Kohler K-8801-SN Polished Nickel Brass Basket Strainer with Tailpiece from the Duostrainer Collection

Item #: BCI175934

Contact us for best available pricing on all Kohler!

We want to help make your remodel easy and affordable! Please call or chat during business hours using the links at the top of our site to take advantage of this special offer.
Offer Ends 3/29/2015

$110.17
Originally $146.90, You Save 25%
Shipping: Free Shipping! See Details
Ships In:
Availability based on Finish selected
Finish:
Polished Nickel
Stock:
71 In Stock
Quantity:
 

Discontinued

Please finish configuring product before adding to cart

Technical Specs

Installation Guide
Specification Sheet
ASME Approved Yes
ASME Code A112.18.1
CSA Approved Yes
CSA Code B125
Diameter 4.5
Drain Connection 3.5
Height 7
Manufacturer Warranty 1 Year Limited
Material Brass
Theme Traditional
Width 4.5

Product Features:

  • Constructed of solid brass ensuring durability and dependability
  • Covered under Kohler's limited lifetime warranty
  • Premier finishing process - finishes will resist corrosion and tarnishing through everyday use
  • Fits drains with a 3-1/2" to 4" connection size
  • Height: 7"
  • Diameter: 4-1/2"

Additional Kohler Links

Our SKU: K-8801

This product is listed under the following manufacturer number(s):

  • Brazen Bronze
    K-8801-BX
  • Brushed Bronze
    K-8801-BV
  • Brushed Chrome
    K-8801-G
  • Brushed Nickel
    K-8801-BN
  • French Gold
    K-8801-AF
  • Oil Rubbed Bronze (2BZ)
    K-8801-2BZ
  • Oil Rubbed Bronze (BRZ)
    K-8801-BRZ
  • Polished Brass
    K-8801-PB
  • Polished Chrome
    K-8801-CP
  • Polished Nickel
    K-8801-SN
  • Vibrant Moderne Brushed Gold
    K-8801-BGD
  • Vibrant Moderne Polished Gold
    K-8801-PGD
  • Vibrant Stainless
    K-8801-VS

*Denotes a finish or option that has been discontinued

14 Questions from the Community

  • The Kohler K-8801 2BZ is a shiny oil rubbed bronze. The BRZ is a matte oil rubbed bronze.

    What is the difference between the two oil rubbed bronze finishes (2BZ and BRZ)?

    A. The Kohler K-8801 2BZ is a shiny oil rubbed bronze. The BRZ is a matte oil rubbed bronze.

  • The Kohler K-8801 will work for that sink, if you want a Blanco strainer it is product ID 440007.

    Which strainer do I need if I have Blanco 440083 Double Basin Stainless Steel Kitchen Sink from the BlancoSupreme Series

    A. The Kohler K-8801 will work for that sink, if you want a Blanco strainer it is product ID 440007.

  • Your sink has a standard drain hole. You will need the Kohler K-8804 and the Kohler K-8803.

    I recently purchased the Kohler Anthem Sink K5840-3 in Black. Which Strainer/Tailpiece and size do I need? Is it available in black?

    A. Your sink has a standard drain hole. You will need the Kohler K-8804 and the Kohler K-8803.

  • If you are installing a disposal then you will not need this piece with the tail piece. It still might be a good idea to purchase a basket strainer to keep unwanted items out of your disposal.

    If I'm installing a disposal with this new sink, do I even need this item?

    A. If you are installing a disposal then you will not need this piece with the tail piece. It still might be a good idea to purchase a basket strainer to keep unwanted items out of your disposal.

  • The Kohler K-8801 is able to be used with the 5840-5U.

    What strainer do I need with 5840-5U? Thanks!

    A. The Kohler K-8801 is able to be used with the 5840-5U.

  • This item would be covered under Kohlers warranty if something were to happen to the finish they would replace it under their warranty.

    would love to order the oil rubbed bronze sink strainer but am worried about comments that it peels off in 1 year

    A. This item would be covered under Kohlers warranty if something were to happen to the finish they would replace it under their warranty.

  • The Kohler K-8799 is the appropriate, tailless, version.

    Can K-8801 be ordered without the tailpiece?

    A. The Kohler K-8799 is the appropriate, tailless, version.

  • The k-8804 is the body with tailpiece and does not include the strainer basket(k-8803).

    what's the difference between this one and Kohler K-8804?

    A. The k-8804 is the body with tailpiece and does not include the strainer basket(k-8803).

  • The Kohler K-8801 will fit any sink with a diameter of 3.5-4" outlets which is the standard measurement. However it can only be installed in sinks with a thickness of less than .78". So if your granite is thicker than this it will not work.

    Does this strainer fit any standard granite sink?

    A. The Kohler K-8801 will fit any sink with a diameter of 3.5-4" outlets which is the standard measurement. However it can only be installed in sinks with a thickness of less than .78". So if your granite is thicker than this it will not work.

  • The Kohler K-8801 would be appropriate for the Cape Dory.

    which strainer do I need if I'm going with the cape dory K-5864-5U sink?

    A. The Kohler K-8801 would be appropriate for the Cape Dory.

  • The need for the tailpiece depends on what kind of installation you are doing. If this is a whole new sink, you will probably need a tailpiece. If you are replacing the strainer in an existing sink, the tailpiece should be fine that is still attached. Please let me know if you have any questions!

    How do I determine whether I need the strainer with tailpiece or without?

    A. The need for the tailpiece depends on what kind of installation you are doing. If this is a whole new sink, you will probably need a tailpiece. If you are replacing the strainer in an existing sink, the tailpiece should be fine that is still attached. Please let me know if you have any questions!

  • The Kohler K-8801 would be appropriate as it fits any typical kitchen sink drain and is offered in the Stainless Steel finish.

    I am ordering a Ticor S305 Undermount 16-Gauge Stainless Steel Double Bowl Kitchen Sink what drain do I need?

    A. The Kohler K-8801 would be appropriate as it fits any typical kitchen sink drain and is offered in the Stainless Steel finish.

  • an alternative to a basket strainer is a garbage disposal.

    I ordered a double basin sink, Kohler K-3346-3. Do I need 2 of these basket strainers?

    A. an alternative to a basket strainer is a garbage disposal.

  • The Kohler K-8801 would need a strainer and a faucet.   

    what do I need for the 31 in Kohler stages sink to make it a complete unit?

    A.

    The Kohler K-8801 would need a strainer and a faucet.   

Product Reviews

Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointing We found this item to have different colors between the ring and the strainer basket. The ring is brushed chrome. The basket is darker, more like a brushed nickle.
Date published: 2013-10-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Kohler Basket Strainer Fine quality. Works great with our new Kohler Sink. Works as advertised. Not much more you can say about a drain!
Date published: 2013-08-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Impressed with quality I was very impressed with the quality of this product. The antique bronze was the right color.
Date published: 2013-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect parts This strainer is just what I wanted. A strainer that I can forget about. It just always does what it's supposed to do - letting water down when I want it to drain, and keeping it in when I want to fill the sink. Other kitchen sink drainers I've didn't do this consistently. And, the Kohler looks good while doing it. It has the mass, the heft, and the quality to let me know this will be here, continuing to work perfectly, for a long time to come. Well worth the price. Well worth it at even twice the price!
Date published: 2013-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful I absolutely love this beautiful flange. It looks beautiful, it was easy to install and it is easy to clean. Even the plumber loved it! Just what I needed to match my new sink and faucet.
Date published: 2013-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the price difference We were surprised by the price difference between a high end sink drain and what is commonly available in the DIY stores.... it's the difference between tinny, light weight metal and a fine, quite heavy piece of quality nickel steel that is properly crafted. We opted for the top shelf item above to go into a new soapstone sink I put in. Not at all sorry we got the best! I wanted to do the job only once and know that it would last the life of this house (and probably outlast me also). Ordered easily. Got it speedily, installed it without a hitch. Great doing business with Faucet Direct.
Date published: 2013-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stunner!!! I purchased the polished chrome strainer. Wasn't sure what to expect. It is so pretty. It's actually stunning! And it is fairly easy to install even for a first timer. I would definitely recommend this product.
Date published: 2013-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Drain This drain fit just fine in our new Kohler "iron cobalt" blue sink, and the polished chrome looks good. My only problem was that the drain & flange for the other side of the sink, the garbage disposal side, was not marked as "required," when really you need both.
Date published: 2012-12-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from More than I expected Beautiful basket strainer matches my black/brown sink. It closes and seals without having to work to find the right position to keep the water in the sink. Great.
Date published: 2012-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from shiny chrome is perfect I bought a brushed stainless sink and worried that the shiny chrome finish might not look right with the contemporary style sink bowl. I am an artist so I'm picky about looks. I'm pleased to say it looks perfect, and the quality of this basket and strainer is super high quality - the best I've ever had in the many upscale kitchens I've had in my career. It looks great, doesn't spot and works very smoothly. It's easy to clean and I'm very happy to recommend this product.
Date published: 2012-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Strainer for sink I like this solid brass basket strainer for the kitchen. It's attractive and works well. I haven't had any problems with it to date.
Date published: 2012-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's substantial, well made. Works as expected.
Date published: 2012-09-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very happy with product Nice and heavy duty and easy to use
Date published: 2012-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice and heavy drain My plumber installed this drain. He said I could have gotten another drain for half the price but the finish wouldn't last nearly as long. I would recommend this drain for a high use area like a kitchen. It was probably a little overkill for my laundry room but it looks great.
Date published: 2012-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great item A wonderful item with great weight. Very pleased
Date published: 2012-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the extra $$ for a great finish to your sink Spent a bundle on a SS Blanco sink and turns out the drain assemblies for them are CHROME, would have looked terrible. Blanco needs to address that. Opted for the Kohler SS drain assembly, looks great. Worth spending the extra bucks to get a good finish. The drain basket itself is a nice heavy solid product, nothing cheap about it and it will obviously last. Installed as expected.
Date published: 2012-05-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great but... I wish I would have sprung for the stainless strainer but this assembly is absolutely perfect in my gorgeous new sink! Easy to install. Very good quality. I am very pleased with this purchase.
Date published: 2012-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from strainer Heavy duty!!!
Date published: 2012-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Wow this is the best basket strainer I've ever had. Solid and build to last, but also sleek.
Date published: 2012-01-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from looks great Really like this strainer. Only complaint is the box came opened & the rubber gasket was missing so I had to use the gasket from the old drain.I always used a screen strainer but this works just as well.
Date published: 2011-09-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from EXPENSIVE but solid and looks nice. I was floored to find out that I would buy a $600 sink and then have to pay $100 for the basket strainer. (Would've been TWO of them but we got an insinkerator for one of the bowls.) That said, the basket is definitely well made and the oil rubbed bronze looks quite nice with my faucet.
Date published: 2011-09-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality Product & Finish "This oiled bronzed finish matched out faucet perfectly and after 4 weeks of use so far, it still looks new."
Date published: 2011-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another pleasant purchase! I have used Faucet Direct earlier this year when I remodeled my bathroom, was pleased with every product, and the large selection they carry. I read the customer reviews to guide my purchases. This part has not yet been installed in my new kitchen (soon, I hope) but it looks to be top quality.
Date published: 2011-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from glad I ordered s/s version worth the extra bucks. plumber neglected to use s/s drain pipe included in the strainer so I see white plastic when I look into the strainer. Plumber will correct.
Date published: 2011-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the Money With the installation of new graite countertops and a new stainless steel sink, I needed a drain to compliment the new look. This was the perfect solution. These drains (I bought two) are attractive and built to outlast me and the rest of my kitchen. They installed easy with no problems. They are defintely worth the money.
Date published: 2011-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality! Although we had to return this piece (we only had one opening in a farmhouse sink and the disposal had to go there!) I wanted to report that it was a quality piece and if needed would be a great value. (Husbands SHOULD listen when their wives ask them if a piece is needed when they are placing an order, rather than just saying yes! lol)
Date published: 2011-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality Expensive, but very solid piece. Works great. Looks a little dark compared to my other oil rubbed bronze parts, but still happy.
Date published: 2011-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Purchase This basket strainer is very sturdy and heavy. I have used it several times and very satisfied.
Date published: 2011-04-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from very good heavy duty drain - basket good but a little sensitive concerning stopper position
Date published: 2011-04-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Oil Rubbed Bronze finish is PLASTIC! It's been nearly two years since we purchased these in the Oil Rubbed Bronze finish. With the price of them, I would figure they are a genuine oil rubbed bronze. They should really be called an oil rubbed bronze colored PLASTIC finish because that's what it really is. The strainers have chipped and the finish is coming off in large flakes. I'm not at all satisfied. But, the Kohler warranty is for only a year and they don't pay for installation or replacement anyway. I really am disappointed that a well known brand such as Kohler would put out such poor quality and then charge huge prices for it to make it look like it must be the real thing. The old adage of "you get what you pay for" isn't true in this case. Now I have the hassle of getting replacements from some other brand, installing them, etc. I figured they would outlast our ownership of this house. Bottom line: Don't buy them! They are absolutely no good!
Date published: 2011-02-15
  • 2015-03-25T09:48CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_11, tr_70
  • loc_en_US, sid_cp-564000, STG, sort_mostHelpful
  • clientName_MoreHome

Kohler

The Bold Look of Kohler is more than a slogan, it is a testament to the sight and focus of the Kohler company since the late 1800's. Kohler designs its plumbing fixtures and accessories for longevity and with a focus on pleasing your senses. Kohler’s attributes make its plumbing and accessories a clear choice of quality for generations to come.

Kohler Duostrainer Collection

Featuring a convenient open/close stopper, the Duostrainer basket is offered separately so you can mix and match colors and finishes with KOHLER sinks and drains. The basket is for sink strainer installations with 3-1/2" or 4" outlets and is available in an array of KOHLER finishes and colors.

Other Products In The Kohler Duostrainer Collection

View all 8 products in Kohler Duostrainer Collection

Warranty Info

Kohler Lifetime Limited Warranty Kohler Co. warrants its faucets to be leak and drip free during normal residential use for as long as the original purchaser owns his/her home.* If the faucet should leak or drip during normal use, Kohler will, free of charge, mail to the purchaser the cartridge necessary to put the faucet in good working condition. Kohler also warrants all other aspects of the faucet, except gold finish, to be free of defects in material and workmanship during normal residential use for as long as the original purchaser owns his/her own home. If a defect is found in normal residential use, Kohler Co. will (at its election) repair, provide a replacement part or product, or make appropriate adjustment. Damage to a product caused by accident, misuse, or abuse is not covered by this warranty. Proof of purchase (original sales receipt) must be provided to Kohler with all warranty claims. Kohler Co. is not responsible for labor charges, installation, or other consequential costs. In no event shall the responsibility of Kohler exceed the purchase price of the faucet. To obtain warranty service, contact Kohler Co. either through your Dealer or Plumbing Contractor or by calling 1-800-4-KOHLER or by writing: Kohler Co., Attn.: Customer Service Dept. Kohler, WI 53044, USA Please be sure to proide all pertinent information regarding your claim, including a complete description of the problem, the product, model number, color, finish, and the date the product was purchased. Also include the name of your contractor or distributor and your original invoice. TO THE EXTENT PERMITTED BY LAW, KOHLER DISCLAIMS ALL OTHER IMPLIED WARRANTIES INCLUDING THAT OF MERCHANTABILITY AND FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE . KOHLER CO. ALSO DISCLAIMS ANY LIABILITY FOR SPECIAL, INCIDENTAL, OR CONSEQUENTIAL DAMAGES. Some states do not allow limitations of how long an implied warranty lasts or the exclusion or limitation of special, incidental or consequential damages, so these limitations and exclusions may not apply to you. This warranty gives the consumer specific legal rights. You may also have other rights that vary from state to state. This warranty is to the original purchaser only, and excludes product damage due to installation error, product abuse, or product misuse, whether performed by a contractor, service company, or the consumer. This is our exclusive written warranty. *Trend faucets, MasterShower Tower, gold finish, accessories, fixture related items (as designated in the Kohler Faucets Price Book), and faucets used in commercial settings continue to be covered by Kohler’s one-year limited warranty.6/98 COPYRIGHT © 1998 BY KOHLER CO. (SEE BELOW) All Kohler Plumbing Fixtures, Faucets and Fittings carry Kohler's Limited One-Year Warranty Unless Otherwise Noted. Limited One-Year Warranty Kohler® plumbing fixtures, faucets and fittings are warranted to be free of defects in material and workmanship for one year from date of installation. Kohler Co. will at its election repair, replace or make appropriate adjustment where Kohler Co. inspection discloses any such defects occurring in normal usage within one year after installation. Kohler Co. is not responsible for removal or installation costs. To obtain warranty service, contact Kohler Co. either through your Dealer or Plumbing Contractor or calling 1-800-4-KOHLER or by writing: Kohler Co., Attn: Customer Service Department Kohler, Wisconsin 53044 U.S.A. IMPLIED WARRANTIES INCLUDING THAT OF MERCHANTABILITY AND FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE ARE EXPRESSLY LIMITED IN DURATION TO THE DURATION OF THIS WARRANTY. KOHLER CO. DISCLAIMS ANY LIABILITY FOR SPECIAL, INCIDENTAL OR CONSEQUENTIAL DAMAGES. Some states do not allow limitations on how long an implied warranty lasts, or the exclusion or limitation of special, incidental or consequential damages so these limitations and exclusions may not apply to you. This warranty gives you specific legal rights. You may also have other rights which vary from state to state. This is our exclusive written warranty. Notes: There may be variation in color fidelity between catalog images and actual plumbing fixtures. Kohler Co. reserves the right to make changes in product characteristics, packaging or availability at any time with out notice. COPYRIGHT © 1989, 1990, 1997, 1998 BY KOHLER CO. Kohler Standby Generators Go to the following link to find a service center near you: http://www.kohlergenerators.com/sales-service/contact-sales
Recently viewed items