Kohler K-8801-BN Brushed Nickel Brass Basket Strainer with Tailpiece from the Duostrainer Collection

Item #: BCI175930

Contact us for best available pricing on all Kohler!

We want to help make your remodel easy and affordable! Please call or chat during business hours using the links at the top of our site to take advantage of this special offer.
Offer Ends 3/7/2015

$99.89
Originally $146.90, You Save 32%
Shipping: Free Shipping! See Details
Ships In:
Availability based on Finish selected
Finish:
Brushed Nickel
Stock:
416 In Stock
Quantity:
 

Discontinued

Please finish configuring product before adding to cart

Technical Specs

Specification Sheet
Installation Guide
ASME Approved Yes
ASME Code A112.18.1
CSA Approved Yes
CSA Code B125
Diameter 4.5
Drain Connection 3.5
Height 7
Manufacturer Warranty 1 Year Limited
Material Brass
Theme Traditional
Width 4.5

Product Features:

  • Constructed of solid brass ensuring durability and dependability
  • Covered under Kohler's limited lifetime warranty
  • Premier finishing process - finishes will resist corrosion and tarnishing through everyday use
  • Fits drains with a 3-1/2" to 4" connection size
  • Height: 7"
  • Diameter: 4-1/2"

Additional Kohler Links

Our SKU: K-8801

This product is listed under the following manufacturer number(s):

  • Brazen Bronze
    K-8801-BX
  • Brushed Bronze
    K-8801-BV
  • Brushed Chrome
    K-8801-G
  • Brushed Nickel
    K-8801-BN
  • French Gold
    K-8801-AF
  • Oil Rubbed Bronze (2BZ)
    K-8801-2BZ
  • Oil Rubbed Bronze (BRZ)
    K-8801-BRZ
  • Polished Brass
    K-8801-PB
  • Polished Chrome
    K-8801-CP
  • Polished Nickel
    K-8801-SN
  • Vibrant Moderne Brushed Gold
    K-8801-BGD
  • Vibrant Moderne Polished Gold
    K-8801-PGD
  • Vibrant Stainless
    K-8801-VS

*Denotes a finish or option that has been discontinued

14 Questions from the Community

  • The Kohler K-8801 2BZ is a shiny oil rubbed bronze. The BRZ is a matte oil rubbed bronze.

    What is the difference between the two oil rubbed bronze finishes (2BZ and BRZ)?

    A. The Kohler K-8801 2BZ is a shiny oil rubbed bronze. The BRZ is a matte oil rubbed bronze.

  • The Kohler K-8801 will work for that sink, if you want a Blanco strainer it is product ID 440007.

    Which strainer do I need if I have Blanco 440083 Double Basin Stainless Steel Kitchen Sink from the BlancoSupreme Series

    A. The Kohler K-8801 will work for that sink, if you want a Blanco strainer it is product ID 440007.

  • Your sink has a standard drain hole. You will need the Kohler K-8804 and the Kohler K-8803.

    I recently purchased the Kohler Anthem Sink K5840-3 in Black. Which Strainer/Tailpiece and size do I need? Is it available in black?

    A. Your sink has a standard drain hole. You will need the Kohler K-8804 and the Kohler K-8803.

  • If you are installing a disposal then you will not need this piece with the tail piece. It still might be a good idea to purchase a basket strainer to keep unwanted items out of your disposal.

    If I'm installing a disposal with this new sink, do I even need this item?

    A. If you are installing a disposal then you will not need this piece with the tail piece. It still might be a good idea to purchase a basket strainer to keep unwanted items out of your disposal.

  • The Kohler K-8801 is able to be used with the 5840-5U.

    What strainer do I need with 5840-5U? Thanks!

    A. The Kohler K-8801 is able to be used with the 5840-5U.

  • This item would be covered under Kohlers warranty if something were to happen to the finish they would replace it under their warranty.

    would love to order the oil rubbed bronze sink strainer but am worried about comments that it peels off in 1 year

    A. This item would be covered under Kohlers warranty if something were to happen to the finish they would replace it under their warranty.

  • The Kohler K-8799 is the appropriate, tailless, version.

    Can K-8801 be ordered without the tailpiece?

    A. The Kohler K-8799 is the appropriate, tailless, version.

  • The k-8804 is the body with tailpiece and does not include the strainer basket(k-8803).

    what's the difference between this one and Kohler K-8804?

    A. The k-8804 is the body with tailpiece and does not include the strainer basket(k-8803).

  • The Kohler K-8801 will fit any sink with a diameter of 3.5-4" outlets which is the standard measurement. However it can only be installed in sinks with a thickness of less than .78". So if your granite is thicker than this it will not work.

    Does this strainer fit any standard granite sink?

    A. The Kohler K-8801 will fit any sink with a diameter of 3.5-4" outlets which is the standard measurement. However it can only be installed in sinks with a thickness of less than .78". So if your granite is thicker than this it will not work.

  • The Kohler K-8801 would be appropriate for the Cape Dory.

    which strainer do I need if I'm going with the cape dory K-5864-5U sink?

    A. The Kohler K-8801 would be appropriate for the Cape Dory.

  • The need for the tailpiece depends on what kind of installation you are doing. If this is a whole new sink, you will probably need a tailpiece. If you are replacing the strainer in an existing sink, the tailpiece should be fine that is still attached. Please let me know if you have any questions!

    How do I determine whether I need the strainer with tailpiece or without?

    A. The need for the tailpiece depends on what kind of installation you are doing. If this is a whole new sink, you will probably need a tailpiece. If you are replacing the strainer in an existing sink, the tailpiece should be fine that is still attached. Please let me know if you have any questions!

  • The Kohler K-8801 would be appropriate as it fits any typical kitchen sink drain and is offered in the Stainless Steel finish.

    I am ordering a Ticor S305 Undermount 16-Gauge Stainless Steel Double Bowl Kitchen Sink what drain do I need?

    A. The Kohler K-8801 would be appropriate as it fits any typical kitchen sink drain and is offered in the Stainless Steel finish.

  • an alternative to a basket strainer is a garbage disposal.

    I ordered a double basin sink, Kohler K-3346-3. Do I need 2 of these basket strainers?

    A. an alternative to a basket strainer is a garbage disposal.

  • The Kohler K-8801 would need a strainer and a faucet.   

    what do I need for the 31 in Kohler stages sink to make it a complete unit?

    A.

    The Kohler K-8801 would need a strainer and a faucet.   

Product Reviews

Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well Built ,Will Last Forever I had seen this Strainer @ one of the big box stores but they wanted way too much for them, I was looking to buy 2 of them. I wanted to keep my new sink looking like I spent a thousand dollars on it and these strainers do just that. I found many sites that sell this strainer but after reading some reviews about Faucetdirect.com I felt that they cared the most about their customers. If you have not seen these in person you will not be disappointed if you get these
Date published: 2014-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solid. Well made. I bought two of these. They're well-made, quality strainers that work perfectly with our Kohler sink.
Date published: 2014-08-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from High Quality Strainer Baskets After ordering the Kohler sink, we realized that the basket strainers were not included in that price and had to be ordered separately. Needless to say the price seemed quite steep, but after 35 years of lousy sinks, faucets, and strainers, we decided to go for it. We are totally impressed with the high quality of these strainer baskets - very heavy weight, all metal construction, they fit precisely and they work like a charm - no leaking, no give or slosh, etc. They are worth the money. I don't think we'll be needing to replace these for a very long time - if at all. I guess you get what you pay for!
Date published: 2013-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect parts This strainer is just what I wanted. A strainer that I can forget about. It just always does what it's supposed to do - letting water down when I want it to drain, and keeping it in when I want to fill the sink. Other kitchen sink drainers I've didn't do this consistently. And, the Kohler looks good while doing it. It has the mass, the heft, and the quality to let me know this will be here, continuing to work perfectly, for a long time to come. Well worth the price. Well worth it at even twice the price!
Date published: 2013-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the extra $$ for a great finish to your sink Spent a bundle on a SS Blanco sink and turns out the drain assemblies for them are CHROME, would have looked terrible. Blanco needs to address that. Opted for the Kohler SS drain assembly, looks great. Worth spending the extra bucks to get a good finish. The drain basket itself is a nice heavy solid product, nothing cheap about it and it will obviously last. Installed as expected.
Date published: 2012-05-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from EXPENSIVE but solid and looks nice. I was floored to find out that I would buy a $600 sink and then have to pay $100 for the basket strainer. (Would've been TWO of them but we got an insinkerator for one of the bowls.) That said, the basket is definitely well made and the oil rubbed bronze looks quite nice with my faucet.
Date published: 2011-09-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another pleasant purchase! I have used Faucet Direct earlier this year when I remodeled my bathroom, was pleased with every product, and the large selection they carry. I read the customer reviews to guide my purchases. This part has not yet been installed in my new kitchen (soon, I hope) but it looks to be top quality.
Date published: 2011-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the Money With the installation of new graite countertops and a new stainless steel sink, I needed a drain to compliment the new look. This was the perfect solution. These drains (I bought two) are attractive and built to outlast me and the rest of my kitchen. They installed easy with no problems. They are defintely worth the money.
Date published: 2011-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best drain If the price doesn't scare you and you want the best, this is the only way to go. Solid heavy metal construction, awesome finish, typical of Kohler. We had to have the dark bronze finish for our black granite sink and we are so glad we spent the money for something that will probably last forever.
Date published: 2011-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the money I bought this based on another review at this site and glad I did. It seemed expensive compared to one you could buy at a Home Depot. My experience tells me to spend on quality when it is an item that is used a lot. When my plumber was installing this strainer, he commented on the solid quality and how much easier it was to install.
Date published: 2010-08-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does what it should, perfectly! It seems silly to wax lyrical over a sink strainer, but this one is absolutely worth the money. I have a septic system, so no disposal allowed. This drainer prevents ANY food waste getting into the drain. It is tight, heavy, and works perfectly. I'm going to replace the existing fixture in my other kitchen sink with one of these.
Date published: 2009-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy Any one can install this.
Date published: 2008-06-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Very sturdy but For the price I would have expected better. I paid an upcharge to get brushed nickel and part of it is brushed nickel but the outer rim is brushed chrome. Too ad my lumber installed it before I noticed or else I would have returned it and bought something else. Only reason I didn't give it one star is it feels hefty and well built. Too bad about the "color" - I would have expected more from Kohler especially at the price I paid.
Date published: 2015-02-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Returned This didn't fit the sink, so returned it. No hassell..
Date published: 2015-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality I forgot to get any basket strainer when our contractor was about to install our new sink. The contractor installed a temporary cheap strainer and we replaced it later with this one. What a difference!!! So efficient and sturdy. Very happy with this purchase.
Date published: 2014-11-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy installation and quality product Stopper works great, high quality chrome finish good value
Date published: 2014-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality Product Bought this basket strainer with flange and tailpiece to go into my new Kohler under mount sink. Was very impressed with the quality and the weight of the product. Looked at similar items in the local hardware store and could not believe the difference. Certainly worth the money to get a quality product that will last.
Date published: 2014-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely the best! After years of using cheaper off the shelf strainers, it is reassuring to know that this one will hold up. Great weight and quality made. Looks good too.
Date published: 2014-09-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simply gorgeous! Can a basket strainer be gorgeous? Well this one is. It's a perfect match for my black/tan sink that I purchased when I had to replace my kitchen after a devastating flood. It is sturdy and heavy. It's made of metal and should last a very long time. I would heartily recommend this strainer as a mate for your black or black/tan Kohler enamel over cast iron sink. Additionally, customer service from Faucet Direct is top notch. I had a problem with another issue, and it was resolved quickly and cordially by one of your customer service staff. Thank you, Faucet Direct.
Date published: 2014-08-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Solid strainer This is a great strainer. It actually stops the water when you want to fill up the sink, and it pops out easily to toss out the gunk. Very solid, and a big improvement over the store-bought temporary ones I've used in my rental apartments in the past.
Date published: 2014-08-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solid strainer - top notch quality! You can tell the moment you pick it up that this is a much more substantial strainer than the basic ones most installers use. There is a great deal of quality material used in manufacturing. The strainer can stay in place and have an upper ridge to allow for water passage, or a lower ridge 1/4 turn from there to act as a sink stopper. I have used about a dozen of these over the last few years and they are great.
Date published: 2014-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from worth it's weight... Bought in June for kitchen reno w/Kohler sink - great decision!
Date published: 2014-07-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from matching? I order 2 matching baskets and they arrived in sealed boxes but obviously KOHLER had put a faulty basket in one box. However Kohler refused to exchange but Faucet Direct were great! They not only sent the replacement to my home in Canada, but also provided the return label for me to send them the faulty one. Great service by Faucet Direct! Very poor service from Kohler!
Date published: 2014-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to install, Great look! I bought this strainer and flange a month ago, and it is doing a great job. I love polished chrome, and it is exactly what I was looking for to drop into my new sink. Easy to install. I recommend this product.
Date published: 2014-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A really solid piece! It seems odd to compliment a strainer, but this is a nice, solid piece -- not like the flimsy basket strainers that are commonplace. The best thing about it, and about everything I've purchased through faucet.com, is the unbelievably fine service. I had purchased a sink, not realizing that the strainer wasn't part of it, and emailed for help, and the correct item was placed in a cart waiting for me.
Date published: 2014-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best basket strainer! This is a product of substance. Nothing flimsy about it!
Date published: 2014-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from solid I find the Basket Strainer to be solid and very easy to lock down into place. Releasing and clean is a breeze also.
Date published: 2014-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from looks beautiful! Looks great with my new Kohler sink ,love it. Very sturdy and fits my sink perfect.
Date published: 2014-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Kohler sink and Delta faucet I'm very happy wth both of my purchases . I needed a very specific sink with the drain in the back right corner, because my husband didn't want to move pipes. Kohler had just what we need and the installation was simple. The Delta faucet is great too. It's white and brushed nickel so it's a little different. Mostly, I am extremely satisfied with the service and personnel. They were extremely helpful. I would definitely use Faucet Direct for any future plumbing needs.
Date published: 2014-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Faucet direct is the best! Love the strainer?great quality?and exceptional customer service
Date published: 2014-02-14
  • 2015-03-03T16:15CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_13, tr_88
  • loc_en_US, sid_cp-564000, PRD, sort_mostHelpful
  • clientName_MoreHome

Kohler

The Bold Look of Kohler is more than a slogan, it is a testament to the sight and focus of the Kohler company since the late 1800's. Kohler designs its plumbing fixtures and accessories for longevity and with a focus on pleasing your senses. Kohler’s attributes make its plumbing and accessories a clear choice of quality for generations to come.

Kohler Duostrainer Collection

Featuring a convenient open/close stopper, the Duostrainer basket is offered separately so you can mix and match colors and finishes with KOHLER sinks and drains. The basket is for sink strainer installations with 3-1/2" or 4" outlets and is available in an array of KOHLER finishes and colors.

Other Products In The Kohler Duostrainer Collection

View all 9 products in Kohler Duostrainer Collection

Warranty Info

Kohler Lifetime Limited Warranty Kohler Co. warrants its faucets to be leak and drip free during normal residential use for as long as the original purchaser owns his/her home.* If the faucet should leak or drip during normal use, Kohler will, free of charge, mail to the purchaser the cartridge necessary to put the faucet in good working condition. Kohler also warrants all other aspects of the faucet, except gold finish, to be free of defects in material and workmanship during normal residential use for as long as the original purchaser owns his/her own home. If a defect is found in normal residential use, Kohler Co. will (at its election) repair, provide a replacement part or product, or make appropriate adjustment. Damage to a product caused by accident, misuse, or abuse is not covered by this warranty. Proof of purchase (original sales receipt) must be provided to Kohler with all warranty claims. Kohler Co. is not responsible for labor charges, installation, or other consequential costs. In no event shall the responsibility of Kohler exceed the purchase price of the faucet. To obtain warranty service, contact Kohler Co. either through your Dealer or Plumbing Contractor or by calling 1-800-4-KOHLER or by writing: Kohler Co., Attn.: Customer Service Dept. Kohler, WI 53044, USA Please be sure to proide all pertinent information regarding your claim, including a complete description of the problem, the product, model number, color, finish, and the date the product was purchased. Also include the name of your contractor or distributor and your original invoice. TO THE EXTENT PERMITTED BY LAW, KOHLER DISCLAIMS ALL OTHER IMPLIED WARRANTIES INCLUDING THAT OF MERCHANTABILITY AND FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE . KOHLER CO. ALSO DISCLAIMS ANY LIABILITY FOR SPECIAL, INCIDENTAL, OR CONSEQUENTIAL DAMAGES. Some states do not allow limitations of how long an implied warranty lasts or the exclusion or limitation of special, incidental or consequential damages, so these limitations and exclusions may not apply to you. This warranty gives the consumer specific legal rights. You may also have other rights that vary from state to state. This warranty is to the original purchaser only, and excludes product damage due to installation error, product abuse, or product misuse, whether performed by a contractor, service company, or the consumer. This is our exclusive written warranty. *Trend faucets, MasterShower Tower, gold finish, accessories, fixture related items (as designated in the Kohler Faucets Price Book), and faucets used in commercial settings continue to be covered by Kohler’s one-year limited warranty.6/98 COPYRIGHT © 1998 BY KOHLER CO. (SEE BELOW) All Kohler Plumbing Fixtures, Faucets and Fittings carry Kohler's Limited One-Year Warranty Unless Otherwise Noted. Limited One-Year Warranty Kohler® plumbing fixtures, faucets and fittings are warranted to be free of defects in material and workmanship for one year from date of installation. Kohler Co. will at its election repair, replace or make appropriate adjustment where Kohler Co. inspection discloses any such defects occurring in normal usage within one year after installation. Kohler Co. is not responsible for removal or installation costs. To obtain warranty service, contact Kohler Co. either through your Dealer or Plumbing Contractor or calling 1-800-4-KOHLER or by writing: Kohler Co., Attn: Customer Service Department Kohler, Wisconsin 53044 U.S.A. IMPLIED WARRANTIES INCLUDING THAT OF MERCHANTABILITY AND FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE ARE EXPRESSLY LIMITED IN DURATION TO THE DURATION OF THIS WARRANTY. KOHLER CO. DISCLAIMS ANY LIABILITY FOR SPECIAL, INCIDENTAL OR CONSEQUENTIAL DAMAGES. Some states do not allow limitations on how long an implied warranty lasts, or the exclusion or limitation of special, incidental or consequential damages so these limitations and exclusions may not apply to you. This warranty gives you specific legal rights. You may also have other rights which vary from state to state. This is our exclusive written warranty. Notes: There may be variation in color fidelity between catalog images and actual plumbing fixtures. Kohler Co. reserves the right to make changes in product characteristics, packaging or availability at any time with out notice. COPYRIGHT © 1989, 1990, 1997, 1998 BY KOHLER CO. Kohler Standby Generators Go to the following link to find a service center near you: http://www.kohlergenerators.com/sales-service/contact-sales
Recently viewed items