American Standard 1583.470.002 Chrome Universal Drain Minimum Depth: 14"Maximum Depth: 18-1/2"Shoe Adjustability: 6-1/8" - 8-1/8"

Item #: BCI247228


Offer Ends

$95.95
Originally $144.00, You Save 33%
Shipping: Free Shipping! See Details
Ships In:
Availability based on Finish selected
Finish:
Chrome
Stock:
202 In Stock
Quantity:
 

Discontinued

Please finish configuring product before adding to cart

Technical Specs

Installation Guide
Liquidation Yes
Material Brass
Series Cadet Tub

Universal Drain Minimum Depth: 14"Maximum Depth: 18-1/2"Shoe Adjustability: 6-1/8" - 8-1/8"

  • Universal Drain
  • Minimum Depth: 14"
  • Maximum Depth: 18-1/2"
  • Shoe Adjustability: 6-1/8" - 8-1/8"

Additional American Standard Links

Our SKU: 1583.470

This product is listed under the following manufacturer number(s):

  • Arctic
    1583.470.011
  • Blackened Bronze
    1583.470.068
  • Chrome
    1583.470.002
  • Polished Brass
    1583.470.099
  • Satin
    1583.470.295
  • White
    1583.470.020

*Denotes a finish or option that has been discontinued

0 Question from the Community

Product Reviews

Rated 1 out of 5 by from sticks out into the bathtub and looks horrible The control to lift the drain up and down is completely away from the tub and looks ridicululous
Date published: 2014-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from High quality ** Very nice appearance, much better than the plastic offerings my plumber suggested. Takes a little time to assemble, but well worth the effort. All this at a super value in price...
Date published: 2014-03-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fast shipping Item exactly as described maybe a little lighter duty than expected but over all so far satisfied. Very fast delivery and easy to install
Date published: 2013-12-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor design This thing was a royal pain! It was very difficult to install. I had to guess what length to make the rocker assembly and the bath drain linkage kit. I have an open basement so I was able to view from the bottom of the waste tee if the settings on the linkage kit and rocker were correct. I had to remove the linkage kit four or five times to get the correct length. Doing so I broke a plastic clip on the linkage kit. The spring is a Horrible design! Hair will accumulate around it quickly which will have to be removed and cleaned. The last poor design is the face plate attachment. When you have to remove, well you have a better chance of hitting a dart board blindfolded. They need to make it longer.
Date published: 2013-11-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Needs better design First I had to replace the set screw which holds the handle with an allen head 1 inch machine screw (SS) so I could find the screw to remove the handle easily. But the main problem is hair wrapping around the spring. The assembly needs to be removed every 2 months to clean the hair and stuff collected on the spring. A nasty chore and a pain in the neck to remove the assembly that often. The aesthetics are nice and operation smooth but the regular cleaning more than offsets the value of this bath drain.
Date published: 2013-10-23
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Works well, but still terrible design Take the instructions and throw them out. The length listed for the tub I bought (2776.218WC) is nowhere near close. Trial and error is the best method to get it dialed in. The absolute WORST part is the set screw for the handle to open and close the drain. I have ZERO IDEA why they would use a flat head set screw for this. Trying to turn a flat head screw blind is nearly impossible. This should be a phillips or alan-head screw. Anytime someone pulls on the drain plug too far, you have to take the handle off, and pull the mechanism out before sliding the plug back in. This wouldn't be so bad if not for the flat head set screw on the handle. It literally took me an hour to turn this stupid screw last night. The biggest help was shining a flashlight behind the handle and using the front facing camera on my phone to at least be able to see what direction on the slot on the screw was facing.
Date published: 2013-07-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from universal drain The install was easy, but required a modification. The existing brass drain holes for the overflow drain were less in distance than the replacement. I drilled the holes closer and the fit was good to go. Otherwise, I would have rated a 5. The other night, I kept hearing a clicking sound in the bathroom. My wife was trying to close the toe-tap drain, and thought that it wasn't working. She was opening and closing it. The drain plug does not go flush with the tub surface, yet works great. I had to laugh. All in all, a great purchase.
Date published: 2013-06-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't buy. This drain popped up as a recommendation after placing my whirlpool tub in my cart. I foolishly didn't read the reviews, ordering it since I needed a drain. My plumber could not get it to work and recommended a pop up.
Date published: 2011-12-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from not worth it- doesn't work. The lifter to the drain is flimsy and poorly constructed. The plumbers I used- could not get it to open more than a crack when turned. I ended up having to purchase a separate drain cover on my own, which only added to the expense. Do not buy this drain assembly, you will regret it.
Date published: 2011-12-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from damaged from factory Product came damaged from factory. FD was able to help with the return and refund. Can't believe American Standard would allow a damaged part to be packed.
Date published: 2011-11-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Well made I purchsed this for my American Standard whirlpool/air tub. It works well. I only wish that the pop up waste would open more so the tub would drain faster. Other than that, the items looks and works well.
Date published: 2011-04-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Drain assembly is worthless As others have said, the drain assembly is worthless. I spent way to much time trying to get it to work. I never was satisfied with it, so replaced the drain mechanism with a simple push-pull. But now I'm having trouble finding a face plate to replace the piece of junk that came with it. Seems that the holes on this are a non-standard width.
Date published: 2011-01-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Returned this product as our contractor discovered after demolition that the builder used PVC and not brass.
Date published: 2010-11-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Never worked Product has never worked right. Have spent hours trying to adjust. The drain either won't close completely or it will not open once tub is full. We use the fingernail method to open and close our drain.
Date published: 2010-11-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Stinks !!!!! I am a pretty good DIY'r and had lots of trouble installing this thing. I though it was me for the first two hours, then after that knew it must be a lousy product. After reading the two reviews above me, I know it's not me. This drain stinks, don't even think about it.
Date published: 2010-06-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from poor non functional product I am a contractor and have never had so much trouble trying to get this drain to properly function after install time of 3 hours. this design needs to go back to the drawing board. It would be nice if they would bench test the product before putting it into production !!!
Date published: 2010-06-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from terriable design!!!!! I am a plumber by trade and would not recommend this product to anyone. Very hard install with very little instuctions. Will never put one in again for myself or anyone else. I spent about 5 hours trying to install this product and it still does not work right. Very fustrating!!!!. But dont just take my word for it, read others who have tried this product. Thanks for letting me share my review.
Date published: 2010-06-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good buy looks good, feels durable....we'll see
Date published: 2010-02-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from its ok for the price none
Date published: 2009-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Buy with Confidence [...] Great place to save money in this economy.
Date published: 2009-02-20
  • 2015-03-02T12:24CST
  • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_28
  • loc_en_US, sid_cp-87601, PRD, sort_mostHelpful
  • clientName_MoreHome

American Standard

American Standard has become a name customers can trust for toilets and other plumbing fixtures. Originally founded over 100 years ago under the name Standard Manufacturing Company, American Standard offers a complete line of affordable and stylish fixtures to upgrade your entire bathroom or kitchen.

Warranty Info

American Standard Lifetime Limited Warranty

American Standard Faucet Lifetime Function and Finish Limited Warranty American-Standard warrants this product to be free from defects in materials or workmanship for as long as the original consumer purchaser owns their home. American-Standard will provide, free of charge, at it’s sole option, replacement part(s) or product (or if no longer available, a comparable product) to replace those which have proven defective in materials or workmanship. Proof of purchase (original sales receipt) from the original consumer purchaser must be made available to American-Standard for all limited warranty claims. This limited warranty is non transferable. It does not apply in the event of product damage due to the use of other than genuine American-Standard replacement parts, installation error, abuse, misuse, or improper care and maintenance (whether performed by a plumber, contractor, service provider or member of the purchaser’s household). The limited warranty excludes damage due to aggressive air or water conditions, or harsh or abrasive cleaners and/or materials. This limited warranty excludes all industrial, commercial and business usage, whose purchasers are hereby extended a two year limited warranty (with the exception of solenoid valves and other electronic components which carry a one year limited warranty) applying to all other terms of this limited warranty except duration. This limited warranty does not cover labor charges incurred and/or damages sustained in installation, repair or replacement, nor incidental or consequential damages, all of which are expressly disclaimed. This limited warranty is applicable only to American-Standard faucets manufactured after June 1, 1996 and installed in the United States and/or Canada. This limited warranty gives the original consumer purchaser of an America-Standard faucet specific legal rights which may vary from state to state or from province to province. This limited warranty does not cover any liability for consequential or incidental damages, all of which are hereby expressly disclaimed, or the extension beyond the duration of this limited warranty of any implied limited warranties, including those of merchantability or fitness for an intended purpose. In some states or provinces the exclusion or limitation of incidental or consequential damages is not allowed, so those exclusions may not apply to you.
Recently viewed items